June 20th, 2009 by Ravi Matah | Posted in Sports   Comments Off on ICC T20 SEMI-FINAL-II
Email this Email  |  Print This Post Print This Post   |  


Tilakratne Dilshan’s 96 ( not out) paved the way for Sri Lanka to victory over the West Indies in a one sided Semi Final match of World Cup T20 played at Oval on June 19,2009.

Sri Lanka was put into bat after West Indies won the toss and decided to field first.. Openers Dilshan and Sanat Jaisurya piled up 73 for the first wicket and Jaisurya was out c Taylor b Bravo for 24.. In the same over Bravo got the scalp of Sri Lanka captain Sangakara. Soon afterwards  Jayawardane also departed  scoring just 2 runs and the Sri Lankan front line then looked in shambles.

Thereafter Chamara Silva and Dilshan slammed a quickfire 50 in less than 6 overs to bring some respectability to the Sri Lankan total.. Dilshan’s 96 not out off just 57 ballswere studded with 12  fours and 2 sixes. Mathews, who came in the 19th over slammed a six, followed it by a four and had made 12 runs. Sri Lanka were 158 for 5 in the allotted 20 overs.

Chasing 159 runs to win, West Indies had a dismal start. Mathews,  the right arm medium pacer for Sri Lanka, took three wickets in the first over of the match sending back Marshal, Simmons and  Bravo back to the dug out. West Indies were heads down and the score read 1 for 3 after one over.

Chris Gayle and Shiv Narain Chanderpaul made 42 runs for the fourth wicket when Ajantha Mendis got Chandrapaul lbw for 7 runs. Chris Gayle was the only batsman who stood firm amongst the ruins and conpiled a well made 63. Apart from Gayle, no West Indies batsman got to double figures and they lost the match by 57 runs. Sangakara had rotated his bowlers superbly and was all along checking his field placements to ensure that runs were not given away. They played with clinical professional approach and there was no room for complacency.

For Sri Lanka , Mathews got 3 for 16, Murli 3 for 29, Ajantha Mendis 2 for 9 ,Malinga 1 for 24 and Udana 1 for 24.

Dilshan Tilakratne was named Man of the Match.

Sri Lanka will now play Pakistan on Sunday in the ICC T20 final at Lords

Ravi Matah

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed