April 5th, 2010 by Ravi Matah | Posted in Sports   Comments Off on IPL-3 : DELHI BEAT BANGALORE
Email this Email  |  Print This Post Print This Post   |  

It was a game of fluctuating fortunes between runs and wickets as Delhi Daredevils and Royal Challangers fought it out at the Feroz Shah Kotla Ground, New Delhi on Sunday. Gautam Gambhir won the toss and chose to bat. Virendra Sehwag scored 35 runs off 22 balls and was bowled by Mithun.  Sehwag had hit two huge sixes and five fours in his 35 runs. He slammed one six off the first ball of Mithun’s over and was bowled in the very next ball. 

Kumble  bowled very well and he ensured that DD could not reach to a high total and contained them by superb bowling and fielding. Gautam Gambhir was run out and David Warner also did not last long. Warne hit three fours and two sixes but was later caught on the long-on boundry. 

But Paul Collingwood had other designs and remained unbeaten in a 45 ball 75. Delhi Daredevils could muster 184 for the loss of five wickets and gave Royal Challangers Bangalore a target of 185 in the available 20 overs. 

Royal Challangers Bangalore opened their innings with Jacques Kallis and Cameroon White. White was out for 4 runs and Kallis score 54 off 42 balls. His knock included 5 fours and a six. Kevin Pietersen scored 16 and was bowled by Sangwan. Ross Taylor was b lbw to Rajat Bhatia for 22 runs. 

Virat Kohli was bowled by Mahroof for 13 and Dravid, the wall, just contributed 14 runs.  Today, for the Royal Challangers Bangalore there were no partnerships worth the name and they lost wickets at regular intervals.After the departure of Kallis there was no one to fight it out for the Royal Challangers. Dravid and Virat Kohli found themselves in  an impossible situation trying to get 67 runs of 25 balls. Royal Challangers Bangalore could muster only 147 for 9 runs. 

For the Delhi Daredevils Maharoof got 1 for 28 runs and Daniel Vittori 1 for 40 runs. Amit Mishra bowled well and got 3 for 32 runs. 

Delhi Daredevils have replaced Bangalore from the second position in the IPL points table with a 37-run win in New Delhi. 

The award for the Maximum Sixes went to Paul Collingwood. 

The award for the Karbonn Kamaal Catch went to Cameroon White. 

The Man of the match award was given to Paul Collingwood.

Ravi Matah.

Tags: , , , ,

Comments are closed