April 22nd, 2010 by Ravi Matah | Posted in Sports   Comments Off on IPL-3 MUMBAI ENTER FINALS
Email this Email  |  Print This Post Print This Post   |  

The last five overs of the Mumbai Indians’ innings changed everything. They plundered 77 runs of these overs and beat the Royal Challangers Bangalore by 35 runs. Mumbai Indians won the toss and elected to bat on Wednesday at the D Y Patel Stadiium, Mumbai.

Sachin Tendulkar and Shikher Dhawan opened the innings and the Mumbai Indians lost Sachin who scored only 9 runs. Dhawan was joined at the crease with Abhishek Nayar and then Shikhar Dhawan was run out for 12 runs by Virat Kohli. 

Nayar and Rayudu took the score to 69 when Nayar was sent back to the pavillion by Pietersen for 22. Later Duminy was also packed by Kumble and the score read a pathetic 77 for 4. After the strategic time out, Bangalore struck twice in two overs. 

Kumble and Pietersen had spun a web around Mumbai and their batsmen could not stretch their arms around and runs came only in single and two’s. Only 31 runs had come with the loss of two wickets. 

Saurabh Tewary and Rayudu pushed the Mumbai score steadily. Saurabh hit Kallis for a six and folowed it up for two boundaries in the 16th over. Mumbai had, then, broken the shakles. They both took 17 runs off the 16th over. There was more comedy in store for Bangalore as Kohli took the catch of Rayudu in the 17th over off Kumble and that ball was declared a no-ball. The consequential free- hit was sent to the boundry by Rayudu. At the 15 over stage Mumbai were 117 for 4.

 Later, Rayudu was out caught Kumble bowled Steyn for a well made 40 runs. In came the wonder hitter Kieron Pollard to the crease. He hit two towering sixes in the 19th over and managed to score 17 runs. And Kumble was visibly angry. 

 Everything changed in the last five overs and Mumbai managed to score 77 runs. Tewary scored 52 (not out) off 31 balls inclusive of 3 fours and four sixes. Pollard was not out on 33 and he had hit one boundary and 3 sixes. They scored 184 for 5. 

In reply thereto, Bangalore kept losing wickets at regular intervals and their openers could muster only 24 runs. Dravid was runout for 23 runs  made with the help of 3 boundaries. Kevin Pietersen also went down cheaply to Harbhajan Singh for 19 runs. Uthappa slammed a quick fire 26 off 13 balls with the help of 2 boundaries and 2 sixes. 

Kieron Pollard took 3 for 17 in his 4 overs and Harbhajan got 2 for 44 off his 4 overs. Bangalore were 123 for 7 after 16 overs. Dilhara Fernando also got a consolation prize when he bowled Steyn for 5 runs. 

Mumbai Indians won the match by 35 runs and have entered the finals of the IPL-3. The other Semi-final will be played between  Channai Super Kings and Deccan Chargers on the 22nd April. The winner of this match will meet the Mumbai Indians in the finals to be played on the 25th April, 2010. 

The award for the maximum sixes was given to Saurabh Tewary. 

The award for the Karbonn Kamaal Catch went to J.P.Duminy. 

The Man of the match was awarded to Kieron Pollard.

Ravi Matah.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments are closed