April 24th, 2010 by Ravi Matah | Posted in Sports   Comments Off on BANGALORE CLINCH THIRD PLACE-IPL-3
Email this Email  |  Print This Post Print This Post   |  

Royal Challangers Bangalore beat Deccan Chargers by nine wickets in a totaly one-sided match. Deccan Chargers won the toss and elected to bat against Royal Challangers Bangalore at the D Y Patil Stadium Mumbai on Saturday.  Deccan Chargers struggled and slipped to reach to a total of 82 runs in the third-place play-off. 

Not many people came to witness the game and it was a dull atmosphere which prevailed through Deccan’s innings. Adam Gilchrist and Monish Sharma opened the innings for Deccan Chargers and Gilchrist departed early caught at square leg boundary by Kallis while attempting to hit a six off a full toss from Kumble. 

Apart from Anirudh who scored 40 runs for his team, no other batsman could contribute much to the Deccan Chargers score. Kumble opened the bowling against Gilchrist and got him out caught by Kallis in the first over. Praveen Kumar bowled well and mixed his cutters with slower ones, in a tight spell. 

Dale Steyn was accurate and got 1 for 11 in his 3 overs and did not alow the batsmen to open their arms. Monish Mishra  was out lbw to Praveen Kumar and Rohit Sharma gave a simple catch to Pietersen and short mid-on. 

Andrew Symonds got a reprieve when Steyn dropped him at fine-leg  in the sixth over. But Steyn made amends very quickly as he got him in the first ball of the next over as Symonds edged the ball to Uthappa who made no mistake. Deccan were then 27 for 4 and the slide had begun. 

They were soon 35 for 5 when Smith misread the googly from Kumble and his furniture was disturbed.  Anirudh became their saviour who scored 40  runs and avoided a total collapse. His runs were punctuated with four booundaries and a six against Nayan Doshi. 

Venugopal was the only other batsman who scored 24 runs with two boundaries and a six. None of the other batsmen could reach double figures. 

Kumble was the pick of the bowlers and grabbed 4 for 16, Steyn 1 for 11, Praveen Kumar 2 for 18 and Nayan Doshi, who made his IPL debut today got 1 for 17 runs and bowled extremely well. 

In reply thereto, Bangalore opened their innings with Jacques Kallis and Rahul Dravid. Kallis was out in the eight over caught and bowled by Sharma for 19 runs after he had despatched the ball thrice to the boundary. Dravid and Pietersen prevented any further loss and took the score to 86 for 1. Dravid had hit five boundaries in his 35 runs and Pietersen hit two sixes and a  boundary in his 29 runs. In fact he finished off the run chase with a six. 

Deccan Chargers had the Champions Trophy at stake but they did not apply themselves to the task assigned and lost wickets regularly. They could not survive the early loss of five wickets for 35 runs in the 9th over and never recovered thereafter. On the other hand Royal Challangers Bangalore have sealed their place in the Champions Trophy T 20. 

It was a totally dull affair and spectators, as it is, were not keen to go to the Stadium to watch this match and most of the seats were empty. 

The award for the Maximum Sixes was given to Kevin Pietersen. 

The award for the Karbonn Kamaal Catch went to Jacques Kallis. 

The Man of the match was awarded to Anil Kumble.

Ravi Matah.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed