April 26th, 2010 by Ravi Matah | Posted in Sports   Comments Off on CHENNAI WIN FINAL OF 1PL-3
Email this Email  |  Print This Post Print This Post   |  

M.S.Dhoni’s shrewd captaincy and clinical approach assured Chennai Super Kings the victory against the formidable Mumbai Indians  in the final of the IPL-3 tournament.

The closing ceremony delayed the toss by more than half an hour at the DY Patil Stadium, Mumbai.   It was MS Dhoni, who won the toss and chose to bat on Sunday. Both the sides played the same XIs that won them the semi-finals. 

Raina’s 57 not out took Chennai Super Kings to a respectable and fighting total of 168 for 5 in the final of IPL-3 played Sunday at the D Y Patil Stadium Mumbai. Sachin, who was doubtful to play because of the stitches in his hand, came down to the toss for the match and the packed Stadium went ecstatic. 

Chennai opened the innings with Mathew Hayden and Murili Vijai and the opening  produced 44 runs when Vijai was consumed by Dilhara Fernando. Raina joined Hayden and then Hayden was out for 17 and Chennai was 47 for 2. Suresh Raina scored his ninth IPL fifty and his 57 comprised of three hits to the fence and three huge sixes. 

Badrinath made 14 runs with the help of two boundaries and was out and the score read 67 for 3. Then skipper Dhoni arrived at the crease and he, alongwith Raina, put up a good partnership of 72 runs for the fourth wicket. The 12th over of the innings was bowled magnificently by Dilhara Fernando who gave away just 1 run and captured a wicket. 

Mumbai bowled very well and Chennai could reach 100 run mark only in the 15th over. Dhoni was caught by Fernando when he top-edged a full toss from Zahir Khan for 22 runs. Chennai were 146 for 4 after 18 overs. Harbhajan bowled the 19th over and the first three balls were dot balls. Then Morkel slammed him for a boundary and a six and was run out for 15 runs. 

He was replaced by Anirudh who hit a six and another ball went for 5 wides. The last over yielded 11 runs and Chennai closed at 168 for 5 in the allotted 20 overs. 

In reply thereto, Mumbai opened the innings with Sachin Tendulkar and Shikhar Dhawan. Dhawan was out caught Dhoni for a duck and then Abhishek Nayar joined Sachin at the crease. Bowling and fielding by the Chennai team was superb and Mumbai could only score 5 runs in 7th and the 8th overs. 

Then Nayar hit two consecutive sixes in the 11th over and he was soon run out , the score card reading 67 for 2. It was not a wise step to promote Harbhajan Singh  in the batting over and he soon perished off a doubtful decision by the umpire. He was given out lbw to Raina. They were 73 for 3 after 12 overs. 

They were 99 for 3 when Sachin was caught by  Vijai for 48 runs off Jakati who also sent back Saurabh Tewary in the same over. It was then 100 for 5. Pollard came to the crease at the fall of JP Duminy and he tried his best to score quickly but had too little balls to work on. He hit 22 off Bollinger in the 18th over. In another mix-up while taking the second run Rayudu had to sacrifice his wicket in order to give the crease  to Pollard.

Morkel bowled an excellent 19th over in which Pollard was caught by Hayden for 27 runs and Mumbai were 146 for 9 in the 20 overs. 

For Chennai Jakati took 2 for 26, Murli 1 for 17, Morkel 1 for 20 and Raina 1 for 21. 

Chennai won the match by 22 runs and are the Champions of IPL-3. Ultimately the law of averages caught up with Mumbai who had a decent run up to the final and lost it to Chennai. They had dropped two catches whereas Chennai had held on to three catches. 

The IPL Chairman Lalit Modi gave the Vote of thanks. 

The award for the Maximum sixes went to Suresh Raina. 

The award for the Man of the Match also went to Suresh Raina. 

Sachin Tendulkar was presented the Orange Cap being the highest run-getter of IPL-3. 

Pragyan Ojha got the purple cap for the highest wicket taker in the IPL-3. 

The Golden Player award of the tournament went to Sachin Tendulkar who was presented a trophy and a cheque for Rs. 10,00,000/-. 

The Umpires and the Match referee were presented the Momentoes. 

The runners up cheque of Rs Three Crores was presented to Sachin Tendulkar, being the Captain of the losing side.

The Mumbai team members collected their medals and then the Chennai team collected the bats given to them as medellions. 

Last but not the least, M.S.Dhoni collected the Winners Trophy, a cheque for Rs. 6 Crores which was presented to him by the IPL Co-Chairman Lalit Modi.

Ravi Matah.

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments are closed