May 17th, 2010 by Ravi Matah | Posted in Sports   Comments Off on ENGLAND CLINCH T20 TITLE
Email this Email  |  Print This Post Print This Post   |  


Paul Collingwood won the toss and asked Australia to bat first.  Australia lost three quick wickets in the final of ICC World Cup T20 tournament at the Kensington Oval ground on Sunday. The law of averages had caught up with the Australians who were all along on a winning streak, till today. 

Kevin Pietersen

Kevin Pietersen

They were in dire straits when David Hussey saved them from a total disaster by scoring 59 runs off 54 balls. With the top cream back to the pavilion, it was the middle order which pushed Australia to 147 for the loss of 6 wickets at the end of 20 overs.

It was again Cameroon White who scored 30 runs off 19 balls in the company of M Hussey who gave some respectability to the Australian total. It was remarkable bowling and superb fielding by the England players that Australia were 8 for 3 in three overs.

Shane Watson was out caught at slip when he edged the ball to the wicket-keeper and the ball ricoched from the Kieswetter gloves in to the first slip and caught superbly by Swann.

One over later, David Warner was run out for 2 runs. And before Australia could even think of settling down, they suffered another blow when Brad Haddin was adjudged caught behind off his hip caught by a diving Kieswetter and Sidebottom appealed for the catch.

Australia got their first boundary of the innings in the fifth over and after the half way mark they were 47 for 4. Then Cameroon White slammed two sixes and two boundaries in the 13th over which produced 21 runs for Australia.

White scored 30 runs off  19  deliveries and were punctuated with 4 fours and a six. Australia were looking to make a decent score as they were now 85 for 4 after the 14th over.

Then Mike Hussey came to the crease and both of them scored 47 runs in quick time to push their side score and David Hussey was run out in the final over, their side managed to score 147 for 6 in the 20 overs.

England made a cautious start in their run chase scoring just three from the opening over bowled by Dirk Nannes but they lost opener Michael Lumb (2) in second over, holing out to David Hussey as the batsman failed to keep down a rising Shuan Tait delivery.
Craig Kieswetter struck a superb knock of 63 as England were crowned World Twenty20 champions after crushing Australia by seven wickets in the  clash to win their maiden ICC tournament title on Sunday. He made the Australian bowling attack look easy with an explosive 49-ball innings which was punctuated with seven fours and two sixes as England chased down the target of 148 with three overs to spare in the grand finale at the Kensington Oval.

Craig Kieswetter and Kevin Pietersen powered England with a 111-run stand for the second wicket.  Chasing a target of 148, it was England’s captain, Paul Collingwood, who ensured the victory with three overs to spare.

Pietersen dominated the Australian attack right from the moment he walked in the pitch and he gets full credit for England’s victory. Kieswetter gave his partner adequate support and ruthlessly plundered runs off the Aussie bowlers.

Pietersen was out in the 14th and then Kieswetter was out soon thereafter, which left  Paul Collingwood (12) and Eoin Moragn (15) to complete the proceedings and take England to 148 for three in 17 overs.

Tait, Johnson and Steven Smith took a wicket each for Australia.

In the presentation ceremony held after the match, medals were given to the umpires, then to the players of the Australian team.

The Man of the match was awarded to Craig Kiewsbetter.

The Man of the tournament prize went to Kevin Pietersen.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments are closed