August 29th, 2010 by Ravi Matah | Posted in Sports   Comments Off on SRI LANKA WIN FINAL
Email this Email  |  Print This Post Print This Post   |  

Sri Lanka beat India by 74 runs in the final of the Triangular Series between Sri Lanka, New Zealand and India played at the Dambulla Stadium on Saturday

Kumar Sangakara

Kumar Sangakara

Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat.  They made full use of the track and Tilakratne Dilshan slammed a chanceless century to maintain the hold of Sri Lanka on the match.

Though embroiled in the no-ball controversy in depriving Sehwag of a century in the previous encounter with India, he had saved his best performance for the last.

He was ably supported by Mahila Jayawardne who rotated the strike very well. These two batsmen posted an opening wicket partnership of 121 runs. This was Dilshan’s third century against India.

Munaf Patel and Praveen Kumar bowled their heart out and could extract some swing out of  their bowling. The major blunt of Sri Lanka’s score was borne by Ishant Sharma and Ashish Nehra. Boundaries were plundered off both these bowlers.

After 4 overs they were 47 for no loss. None of the Indian bowlers could make any dent in the Lankan’s batting and they cruised comfortably.Sri Lanka  were 52 after the first 10 overs and raced to 74 for no loss as Dilshan punished a clue-less Ishant Sharma all along.

Dilshan later neatly compiled his eighth ODI century to provide the much needed impetus to the Lankan innings who capitalised on some wayward bowling by the Indians and put up a decent score.

Dhoni was frustrated with India’s bowling performance and despite rotating them; he could not check the flow of runs.

Jayawardane got out after making a very useful 39 which was studded with 5 boundaries. Dilshan went on to score 110 which were punctuated with 7 boundaries and a six. He was caught a long leg boundary while trying to hit one over the top.

Other major contributor for Sri Lanka was Sangakara who scored 71 runs with the help of 7 boundaries and a six.   During the period he was at the crease Lanka had lost Jayawardhane and Tharanga.This left India with a tough task of allmost 6 runs an over.

Munaf Patel got 2 wickets for 43 runs.

Indian bowling was mediocre today and totally bereft of the usual sting. They were hammered all over the ground effortlessly by the Lankan batsmen. Sri Lanka ultimately managed to post a score of 299 for the loss of 8 wickets in the prescribed 50 overs.

In reply to Sri Lanka’s huge total, India started off well but with the departure of Sehwag, India’s hopes of winning the final were dashed and it appeared that game was almost over. Sehwag hit six scintillating boundaries, was given not out on a plumb lbw and was run out the next ball when Chamara Kapugadera hit the stumps while Sehwag attempted to steal a single.

Earlier Dinesh Kartik was given out caught off the thigh pad. If a few umpiring decisions go either, then they upset the rhythm of the team.

Virat Kohli played a sensible knock for his 37 runs  and had kept India’s  hopes alive. He managed to find the gaps in the field and hit   boundaries. Then Yuvraj joined him and he too survived when he was caught of a no-ball in the slip cordon.

But wickets kept falling at regular intervals and India were in deep trouble. Ultimately it was M.S.Dhoni who played a Captain’s knock of 67 runs ably supported by Raina, but it was too little, too late.

Raina scored 29 runs and was going good until he tried to hit another one out of the ground and was out caught at mid-on boundary.

Kohli was caught off a thick edge at third man boundary. India’s middle order has continuously failed and that has been the main concern for India. Kartick and Yuvraj have been a failure on this tour and Raina did not play to his full potential.

India were all out for 225 runs and lost to Sri Lanka by 74 runs.

Some of the players in the Indian side have outlived their utility basing on  their poor form. This team cannot be expected to do justice in the forthcoming Champions Trophy scheduled to be held from September 10th in South Africa. Even though Sachin Tendulkar will be in the team, Robbbin Utthappa should also be given a chance now.


Man of the Match –                           US $1500  and Micromax Phone    Tilakratne Dilshan

Onida Rocking Performer               Onida TV                                     Kumar Sangakara

Royal Stag Player of the Match     US $ 1500                                   Tilakratne Dilshan

Yamaha Stylish Player                     Yamaha Motor Cycle               Kumar Sangakara

Royal Stag Man of Series              US $ 2500  and Trophy            Virendra Sehwag

Admirable Player of the Series     Fiat Sienna Car                            Virendra Sehwag

Winnning Team Cup                           US $ 5000 and Micromax Cup       Kumar Sangakara

Ravi Matah

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments are closed