November 28th, 2010 by Ravi Matah | Posted in Sports   Comments Off on INDIA BEAT NEW ZEALAND
Email this Email  |  Print This Post Print This Post   |  

Daniel Vittori won the toss and opted to field in the 1st ODI between India and New Zealand played at Nehru Stadium at Gawhati today. Virat Kolhi slammed a thrilling century, the second in a row, to take India to 276 runs all out.

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli

India were however biting their nails in the last few overs when the ninth wicket pair of McCullum and Mills slammed 67 precious runs and at one stage looked set to overhaul India’s score. At one stage, only 41 runs were needed off 31 balls, when McCullum was out caught. 

Virat Kohli completed his century with ten boundaries and Yuvraj Singh contributed 42 runs. Murli Vijai struck boundaries at ease and was ably supported by Gautam Gambhir who was in his usual self.

Murli Vijai scored 44 runs and when Gambhir was out, India were 92 for the loss of two wickets. Then it was Yuvraj’s turn to give suppport to Virat Kohli and both plodded along smoothly.

In their 88-run stand for the third wicket, Kohli was compact in rotating the strike while Yuvraj looked to score in boundaries before he edged one behind the stumps.

Suresh Raina scored 13 runs and continued with his poor Test run into the ODIs, as he became Mills’ victim.

India then took the batting power play and it was jubilation time all round as Kohli completed his century. He has undoubtedly grown up as a batsman since his under-19 days.

At 250/4 in the 44th over, with Kohli going great guns, a total in excess of 300 looked within easy reach but it was not the case after his dismissal by Andy McKay.

But Kohli’s dismissal brought in a stunning Indian collapse as the lower-order managed 26 runs from last six overs something that exposed the new look side’s inexperience at this level.

Kyle Mills and Daryl Tuffey claimed three for 42 and two for 56 respectively.

Left-arm seamer McKay returned with a career-best figures of 4 for 62 runs.

Ross Taylor top-scored for the Kiwis with a fighting 66 runs studded with three sixes and three boundaries.

At 169 for eight, New Zealand looked to give up easily but Nathan McCullum 35 and Kyle Mills 32 slammed a 67-run ninth wicket stand to give India some nail biting moments.

But Sreesanth who took 3  for 67, broke the partnership dismissing Nathan and Mills with the former being brilliantly caught by skipper Gambhir as India won the match by 40 runs.

When Martin Guptill beginning the chase with five boundaries in the first six overs, it seemed New Zealand had shifted the momentum to top gear.

Ashish Nehra responded by shortening his length, getting Jamie How’s wicket with one that got a bit big. Gambhir introduced Ashwin early, and the bowler delivered. He beat Guptill in the flight, getting him to hit straight to the deep fielder, signaling a start of a period where India dominated the proceedings.

However, the asking rate read 6.4 even after that over. Gambhir immediately brought back Ashwin, and New Zealand had to now attack Yuvraj, who was bowling well. A middle-overs collapse ensued, and when Taylor  in the 32nd over, he had left the tail too much to do for too long.

New Zealand were all out for 236 runs in 45.2 overs.

In the presentation ceremony Virat Kolhi was awarded the Man of the Match award and he was also given an Airtel Fan Club award.

Ravi Matah

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed